2022 Scholarship and Bursary Recipients

The Lac du Bonnet &District Charitable Foundation is pleased to announce the recipients of the Chuck Reynolds Memorial Scholarship and Winnipeg River Bursary for 2022.

The Chuck Reynolds Memorial Scholarship Fund was established in memory of Chuck Reynolds, a well-respected teacher and former Vice Principal of Lac du Bonnet Senior School who, after retirement, went on to serve three terms as an Agassiz and Sunrise School Division School Board Trustee before his untimely passing in 2015. The Chuck Reynolds Memorial Scholarship is awarded to Lac du Bonnet graduates who demonstrate academic excellence or achievements in athletics, the arts, trades, the environment, or social justice.

This year’s recipients are Serenity Poirier and Lily Hodgson of LDBSS, both of whom received $500 scholarships.  Serenity will be pursuing a degree in microbiology at the University of Manitoba.  Lily will be attending the University of Brandon where she will be pursuing her Bachelor of Arts degree.

The Winnipeg River Bursary Fund was established in 2016 by Gus Wruck, emeritus member of the Lac du Bonnet Foundation. Each year, this award is presented to students from the Lac du Bonnet area enrolled in continuing education where the field of study has possible relevance or benefit to the Lac du Bonnet Region. Bursaries of up to $1000 are provided to a deserving student(s) based on relevance, need, and the availability of funds.

The 2022 recipients of Winnipeg River Bursaries are Courtney Yerex, Serenity Poirier, and Abbee Pelland, all of whom graduated from LDBSS this year. Courtney received a $500 bursary and will be pursuing her educational goal in graphic design at the Visual College of Arts and Design in Calgary. Serenity received $1000 to pursue a degree in microbiology at the University of Manitoba. Abbee also received $1000 and will be entering a pre-med program at the University of Winnipeg.

Congratulations to each of these deserving recipients (pictured with LDBSS Principal Chrissy Viznaugh)!